muslim monday

From Rebecca:

Welcome to Muslim Monday

Today’s theme:  Post a picture of one of the 99 Names of Allah subhananu wa ta’ala and explain your choice. After you post on your page, come back here and post a link to your page in the comments section so we call share our contributions.

Next week’s theme (April 14th):  Post a favorite Qur’an recitation.  Try to pick someone less well known so we can introduce one another to reciters we may not be familiar with.

Post your links on Rebecca’s page :)

by Art Hafez

I can’t remember when I first stumbled upon Art Hafez’ beautiful rendering of the 99 names of Allah (swt), but from the very beginning, this painting has been one of my favorites.  It is of as-Sabur, the Patient One. 

Over and over again, Allah (swt) exhorts us to ask His help with patience.

O ye who believe! Seek help through sabri and salat. Surely Allah is with those who persevere. (2:153)

By Time, All of mankind is in a state of loss; except those who attain correct belief and do righteous deeds and exhort each other in truth and exhort each other in sabur (103)

Oh you who believe!  Endure in sabiruu and constancy, and station guard posts, so that you will be sucessful. (3:200)

And be patient in adversity; for verily, God is with those who are patient in adversity (8:46)

Anas (ra) said: I heard the Messenger of Allah (saws) saying, “Allah, the Glorious and Exalted said: `When I afflict my slave in his two dear things (i.e., his eyes), and he endures patiently, I shall compensate him for them with Jannah.”.
(Al-Bukhari).

How often to I let the world get me down?  How often to I despair?  Rather, I should seek patience in the Most Patient, to endure what lies ahead of me and strive for Paradise inshaAllah.

2 thoughts on “muslim monday

Leave a Reply

