UmmS' UmmAli

 

null

 

This rarely lasts more than 2 days in our house.  Also notice the almost clean stove top.  That’s a rarity too.

Omm Ali is one of my favorite Egyptian foods.  I used to fill my suitcases with mixes when I visited and carefully ration them out.  Little did I know that this dish actually isn’t all that hard to make.  Thank you google!

I can’t speak to how authentic this recipe is, since I haven’t been to Egypt in 4 years and my memory of it has been obscured by my own attempts to make it.  However, AbuS has claimed that what I make is better then the stuff we ate next to the Hussein mosque the day we bought our rings.

*1 can of refrigerator crescent rolls (Pillsbury actually makes a general cooking pastry in the rolls section as well that works) or one sheet puff pastry dough.  In my continued quest to cut out processed foods, I’m going to attempt to make my own puff pastry next time around.  That should be fun…not.  Wish me luck.
*1/2 cup chopped walnuts
*1/2 cup chopped pecans
*1 cup raisins – I usually soak these in hot water for a few minutes to plump them up
*1 cup flaked coconut
*1 cup sugar
*4 (or 6) cups 2% milk

1. Roll the crescent roll sheet out onto a pan, and cut into a bunch of little squares. You don’t need to actually separate the squares. Bake for ~12 minutes in a 375 degree oven. Varies depending on the roll brand you use.  Or, if you’re using puff pastry, bake according to direction, until light and flaky.

2. While the rolls are baking, put the milk over a medium-low heat and stir occasionally. When milk gets warm, add sugar and continue to stir

3. When the rolls are done, grease 9×13 pan, and break the sheet into little pieces across the pan. Add nuts, raisins and coconut. Mix.

4. When milk starts to simmer, remove from heat and pour into 9×13 pan. Mix a bit

5. Bake in 375 degree oven 20-30 minutes.

Now, in egypt Omm Ali tends to have a little soupy sauce. To get this, use the 6 cups of milk. Abu Squeakster likes it at a more bread pudding like consistancy. To get this, use 4 cups of milk.

This is a (relatively) healthier version of what is made in egypt. There, they tend to use heavy cream and/or whole-ish milk.   Tasty, but this goes quickly, so you don’t want to get a whole week’s worth of fat in one sitting.

6 thoughts on “UmmS' UmmAli

  1. Asalaam alaikum sister,

    I am so excited you posted this! Last time I was in Egypt my husband requested that I find out how to make this! And this looks super easy. Shukran

  2. rebecca – oooo, I hadn’t thought of sweetened condensed milk. That might make it more creamy. I use the stuff for my chai and it’s quite tasty.

    Miss A – hope you like it. I’ll have to post my mahshy recipe as well for your husband’s benefit, lol. Or, better yet, inshaAllah we can get together and have a mahshy rolling party.

  3. Assalamulykum wrwb sister rahma!

    yup..me is from sunniforum! thought i shd chk out the ‘original’ omm ali recipe…i really like ur blogg..esp ur cat..! put up more pix.. of umm him?her?!

    ill b tryin the recipe today,,,wish me luck…i hope inshAllah it turns out good.

    remember me in ur duas :)

    jazakillah waskm wrwb

  4. wa alaikum assalam,

    Actually, my squeaky baby is a she :) She’s one of those less than common female orangies.

    I’m actually making UmmAli tonight as well. Haven’t had it since probably I made this original post – it’s dangerous to have desserts in our house.

Leave a Reply

