building blocks

If you know me in the real world and/or have followed my blog for awhile, you’ll know I’m all about making grand plans and goals.  Ramadan rolls up, ooo I’m gonna read a juz a day, pray all my prayers on time, and go to taraweeeh 3 times a week at least inshaAllah.  Two weeks into Ramadan, I’m barely able eek out the faraid, let alone any extra acts of ibadat.

null

Why?  Because I haven’t taken the time to invest in building a foundation for my deen.  Sh. Abdul Sattar goes into this concept in depth in his talk building a foundation.

Basically, look at a small child building a tower out of blocks.  They’ll stack one block on top of another, until it all tumbles over.  Why?  Because they have  small foundation of a single block.  Over time, they’ll learn that if they build a wider base, they’ll be able to build a taller tower.

It’s the same with ibadat and our deen.  I get all motivated after listening to a lecture, attending an event or in preparing for Ramadan.  I have a million things I want to do for Allah (swt).  But, I’ve got nothing to build on.  My preparation of shoddy and the foundation is shaky at best.

So it’s obvious what I have to do next right?  Start laying a solid foundation, so that when the time comes, be it Ramadan, or an inspiration from Allah (swt), I’ll be able to build up my deen.

I have a small foundation laid out with my fard prayers alhamdulilah.  The first step to expand it will be to add daily quran reading inshaAllah.  Nothing huge, nothing that I’ll look at it a week from now and be like, I can’t do this.  Nope, for now, it’s just 10 minutes of reading the Qur’an each day, in english. 

Wish me luck and if you want to join me in securing your foundation, leave me a note in the comments :)

4 thoughts on “building blocks

  1. Adding small things are the first step. I figure once I’ve been successful at reading the Qur’an for 10 minutes every day for 2 months, I’ll add something else. Here’s the things I’m thinking of adding:

    *Be consistant in doing the proscribed dhikr after each salat
    *Add Duha (midmorning prayer)
    *Add a little tahajud – nothing major, just getting up 10 minutes before fajr starts and praying a few rakat
    *Make tawbah after each salat
    *Make salawat and salaams on the Prophet (saws) after each salat
    *Add muraqabah after maghrib
    *Add the sunnah prayers one by one

    Anything else you can think of?

  2. fasting regularly, Mondays and Thursday at least.

    I find when I am doing nonobligatory fasts, I am running to do my prayers rather than procrastinating, seeking tawbah with my prayers, find myself waking up to pray during the night, etc. I think if I could fast all the time, I would probably be in a much better place overall.

  3. Ooo, that is a good one. I can’t believe I forgot about fasting. I know I’m better about praying on time during Ramadan, because I feel like what’s the point of fasting if I’m not praying? inshaAllah I’ll add that to my list.

Leave a Reply

