soup!

When I was a teenager, I had a visceral hatred of anything Martha Stewart.  Being a happy homemaker was totally not on my list of things to do with my life.

Now here I am 12 years later, and granted, I’m still not much of a homemaker.  Thank God AbuS is not one of those Egyptian husbands who calls up and says “honey, I’m bringing home some guys to watch the game.  We’ll be there in half an hour,” because our apartment is constantly in shambles.  I do take full credit for that however, as it’s mainly my piles of stuff lying about, cluttering everything up and creating a hazard for anyone who walks in through our door.   He has invited some Jehovah’s Witnesses over these last 2 weekends to do some reverse proselytizing, but alhamdulilah he gave me a week’s notice, so I had plenty of time to pick up and even make cookies (which the JW only ate a bite of  >:(.  This weekend he only got coffee).

I must retract my former loathing of all things Martha and give my two thumbs up to the magazine Everyday Food.  The recipes are simple, quick and easy to make, which is a huge boon when you’re trying to make an entire week’s worth of meals in a single afternoon.

I’ve made two absolutely fantabulous low sodium soups from EDF these last two weeks, Vegetable Chowder and Vegetarian Split Pea Soup.  

Sprinkle a little sargento shredded cheddar cheese on top, crumble in a few crackers and you’ve got a hearty, satisfying dinner for an entire week.  

 

Alas, no pictures, because pictures of my soup never end up looking very appatizing.  I think I’ll look for a pretty wooden bowl and plate to provide a better backdrop for my food pictures.

2 thoughts on “soup!

  1. I’ve never liked Martha Stewart. Too . . . perfect. blech. But I have found the Cook’s Illustrated books and recipies BEYOND compare. The recipies are very clear and give all sorts of explanations for different cooking methods. You can get Best World Recipies and Best Light Recipies at Ramsey County Library. I made most of the Indian recipies out of the one book and the family LOVED it.

  2. Oo, I do looove America’s Test Kitchen on PBS, but have never gotten around to picking up Cook’s Illustrated. I’ll have to see about them at the library (provided of course I don’t have any overdo book fines *looks innocent*).

Leave a Reply

