iran

So, to state the obvious…there’s a lot on Iran in the news as of late.  And I haven’t really read or listened to much of any of it.  What I would like, dear readers (if you’re out there), is an unbiased source that provides an honest view on what’s happening, how both sides differ, the whos, whats, wheres, etc etc etc.  

And if that doesn’t exist, then sources that provide a multitude of perspectives without getting preachy.

I can see the right wing blogosphere heavily supporting the opposition, but  how much does the opposition differ from the current president?  And what is the role of religion in both sides?   I’ve seen fleeting headlines that the protesters are using religion (ie chanting Allahu Akbar), but also attacking mosques?

I know I could go to the beeb, twitter or NPR, but I don’t have the energy to wade through all the news because quite frankly, it depresses me.

I suppose the best thing to do would just be to take dua but my inner poli sci major can’t help but be nosey, even if my inner deen-i-bopper is trying to beat it down to focus on ibadat.

4 thoughts on “iran

  1. From what I’ve heard, the differences between Ahmedinijad and the opposition aren’t that big. I think what people are essentially protesting is the fact that they thought the election was unfair. In the end, the Ayatollah holds more power than the president. In a speech Khameini (the Ayatollah) gave last week he said that people should accept the result, and stressed that Iran was a religious democracy.
    More power to the people of Iran for standing up for their rights.

  2. I believe they are chanting allahu akbar from the rooftops because they can do so without repercussion.

    How about Democracy Now?

  3. Thanks. I am familiar with the structure of the iranian government, having studied it in college. This whole thing to me seems to be a victim of the 24/7 news cycle. I flipped on BBC world news this morning before work, and they mentioned briefly about the news’ roll in this, but did not go into it before I had to go.

  4. “I believe they are chanting allahu akbar from the rooftops because they can do so without repercussion.”

    Not quite. It’s actually a political statement. Prior to the fall of the shah, thousands of Tehranis would stand on their roofs and shout ‘Allahu Akbar’ in support of Khomenei’s return and in defiance of the very secular Shah. Then it was a political statement and you would’ve found members of the large Jewish populations and Christians also chanting.

    For modern Iranians to be doing the same thing is an ironic protest of the Ayatollah, the ruling council, and the president elect.

Leave a Reply

