food glorious food

Made a few new recipes that turn out well this weekend:

Chocolate tapioca pudding with bananas – left out the whipped cream and chocolate cookies.  I actually cut up a whole banana into a bowl, and then only put a few spoonfuls for the pudding on top, so it was more banana then pudding.  Tasty and natural, unlike the package add milk and stir puddings from the grocery store.

Corn and Shrimp Chowder without Bacon – menos bacon obviously, so I skipped step 2, and at step 3, heated some olive oil in the pan to cook the scallions and potatos.  I suppose I could have used turkey bacon, but with my goal of getting processed food out of my live, I figured turkey processed to heck and back to look like faux bacon would not fit the bill.  Quite tasty, although I picked the shrimp out of my serving.  I’m not a huge fan of shrimp, but AbuS is, so I figured I’d save them all for him :)

Lemonade with Watermelon-Strawberry ice cubes.  A modified Martha Stewart recipe.  Originally suppose to be watermelon-strawberry popsicles, but since I didn’t have any popsicle molds, I improvised and put the mix into ice cube trays.  Then, throw 3 cubes in a glass, top with lemonade and wa’la

I know the food pictures aren’t the greatest.  One of these days, I’m going to get a nice wooden plate and bowl, and a clear glass to take food pics for the blog.  But until then, enjoy my vintage Micky D’s Disney glasses from my days as a McDonalds crew member.

I also went co-op shopping this weekend, and I swear this is not a staged pic.  I was setting up my purchases to photograph, and the Squeakster decided to pose with the food for me.

Annie’s Mac n Cheese was on sale for $1.49 a box.  I also stocked up on fruit leather, which is all natural, for lunch sweets.  And, vanilla extract free chocolate chips.

Leave a Reply

