the Prophet's character

I believe I’ve mentioned before that there is a very polite Jehovah’s Witness who rides AbuS and my bus.  While I am totally not up for proselytizing or being proselytize to, AbuS has been more than happy to chat with her about the Bible. 

AbuS rode the bus home with her yesterday and someone the subject of my conversion came up.  AbuS talked about how the character of the beloved Prophet Muhammad (saws) was a large part of what drew me to Islam.

I’ve attempted to give her a copy of the Qur’an in the past, which she has always refused.  I’ve found that a little off putting, since we’ve accepted free bibles and watchtower magazines from her.  But now, a small breakthrough.

She has agreed to possibly reading a biography of the Prophet (saws)!  Alhamdulilah!  I plan on giving her Tariq Ramadan’s In the Footsteps of the Prophet and Submission, Faith and Beauty.

She is very much into the book of Revelations and the end times.  Are there any good books out there on the end times in Islam?  It’s never been something I have concerned myself much with, as I figure it will happen when it happens and what I really need to worry about is preparing for my own death.  However, she consistently sees signs of the end of times in the news.  I know I’ve mentioned a few of the signs from the hadith to her, but maybe a good book on the matter will also open her heart.

Please make dua to Allah (swt) open her heart to Islam through the beauty of our beloved Prophet Muhammad’s (saws) character.

14 thoughts on “the Prophet's character

  1. asalamu alaykum,

    The question about a good book about the end of times came up frequently in Shaykh Hamza’s class and he would not recommend one. He relayed three problems with end of times discussions – too much reliance on Israelite reports, too much reliance on unauthenticated hadiths dealing with the head of times (and apparently there is a large number of them), and too many specific conclusions being drawn on that information, as well as the authenticated information when those conclusions could very well be wrong.

  2. I mean this in all seriousness- what exactly do you find in Muhammed’s character beautiful? I know that Muslims consider him an ideal example of a muslim and try to emulate him, but there are a few aspects of him that I am quite unsettled by.

  3. Rebecca – wa alaikum assalam wr wb, that makes sense but is very unfortunate in this situation. That seems to be the thing she focuses on religion wise. I may just order a few Harun Yahya books on the issue (despite the fact I’m really not a fan of his work) and have AbuS review them for accuracy.

    Oum Amir – ah, it would talk a book for me to describe. For me, it is the entirity and balance of his character – as Ecclesiastes 3:1 says “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.” There was a time for war, and a time for peace. It isn’t all peace or all war. There is a time to laugh and a time to cry. One doesn’t need to be serious all the time, nor should they be glib, etc etc etc. Additionally, there is a tremendous emphasis on good character.

  4. So when you say balance, do you mean that there are aspects of Muhammed character that aren’t worth emulating? And if there are, how do you tell the difference?

  5. Everything the Prophet (saws) did was excellent, but we do not emulate everything. However, what we do not emulate is not what you are getting at, I think. There were certain actions that were only for the Prophet (saws). For example, only the Prophet (saws) was allowed to fast every day outside of Ramadan. Only the Prophet (saws) was allowed to stand the entire night in prayer.

    His companions sought to emulate him in every action. If there was an action we are not suppose to do, then he would tell his companions not to imitate him in that matter.

  6. If everything that Muhammed did was excellent, how do you deal with some of the more . . . troubling events of his life? Such as the ahadith that relate the practice of Muhammed allowing is followers to have relations with their captive women before selling them into slavery? (The way some of the Sahih Muslim hadith read is that the husbands of the captive women were still alive. And while the texts don’t say one way or the other, I have a hard time believing that the relations were consensual considering the captive womens’ families were just killed.)

    Ahadith: Sahih al-Bukhari 2229, 4138, 4350, 5210, 6603, 7409; Sahih Muslim 3371, 3373, 3383, 3432, 3433.

    I know that is quite a few listings, but I didn’t want you to think that I’m just repeating a story third hand.

    If everything Muhammed did was worth emulating, would you also consider this worthy? If not, why not?

  7. ibnAshraf-

    That’s funny. I actually already have that entire debate on my ipod. Do you have something that addresses this issue in a more scholarly manner? Ataie was all over the place and didn’t respond all that well.

  8. Perhaps one should better study the God of the Old Testament (aka Jesus according to Christians) to see the he commanded things far more “troubling”

    If everything Jesus commanded in the OT was worth emulating, would you also consider those things worthy? If not, why not?

  9. Actually, I think Ataie did a great job exposing the intellectual dishonesty, misquoting, and double standards Christian apologists use when bring up such topics

  10. ibnAshraf,

    You’re certainly welcome to your opinion, but as one who is not a Muslim and has serious questions and concerns about the prophethood of Muhammed, Ataie didn’t provide any substantial rebuttals. Ergo, my request for something a bit more scholarly. Ataie didn’t deal with any of the ahadith in any meaningful fashion, (i.e. looking at the text, offering context, providing explanations for the actions in question.)

    As for anon-
    I’m sorry, but that’s the worst dodge ever. I don’t put up with that excuse from my kindergarteners, (yeah, well, the other boys were doing that too!) and I’d expect better from adults. I’m asking honest questions, and I’m looking for honest answers. If that’s the best you’ve got to provide, then I should dismiss your entire religion without a second thought for being so shallow-thinking.

    If I didn’t think that some one within the sphere of Islam has thought about this a come to a good answer, I wouldn’t ask.

Leave a Reply

