indictment

I wish I had something original to report on the goings on here in the Twin Cities, but unfortunately, I’m learning most of what I know from the news, just like everybody else.

I can mention one little tidbit – as I’ve mentioned before, I occasionally attend a masjid that was mentioned in connection with the missing men.  According to AbuS, the imam has now taken a strong stance supporting the current somali government and against the insurgents.

The indictment against 2 somali men, one currently of the twin cities, another a former resident, has been unsealed.

According to the indictment, federal investigators allege the men “provided material support and resources, namely personnel, including themselves, knowing and intending that the material support and resources were to be used in preparation for and to carry out a conspiracy to kill, kidnap, maim or injure persons in a foreign country” from September 2007 through December 2008.

Also, AbuS and I watched this video piece that was in the NYT article I linked toyesterday.  In it, one of the interviewees made a good point – al Shabab was/is something that transcends clan lines and united it’s participants towards the common goal of achieving some kind of peace.  As an outsider, I can’t even begin to understand the importance of clans and clan divisions in the somali community.  I know they exist, but I cannot wrap my head around the concept that the clan is more important than your fellow muslim brothers and sisters, and the peace and stability of your home.

It would seem to me that what needs to be done now is to find another organization that transcends the clan culture and that will work for peace, without using terrorism.  Does that exist?  Allahu Alem.

2 thoughts on “indictment

  1. As-Salaamu ‘alaikum,

    Surely an imam should be taking a neutral stance as regards politics in Somalia. One side are a “government” which is called that only by politicians and the media abroad, and whose writ doesn’t seem to run much beyond Baidoa. The Shabab, meanwhile, have been reported as having stoned a 13-year-old girl to death after she was raped. Remember that Muslim religious leaders took a side in the 2000 presidential election, and look what happened to them.

  2. wa alaikum assalam wr wb,

    That was my thought as well, but the community is under a tremendous amount of pressure to distance themselves from even a wiff of association with these boys who have joined al shabab.

    I attended jummah there last week, and couldn’t hear much of the khutbah over the general din of the ladies area unfortunately, but I did catch him talking about supporting peace in Somalia, and then something about fighting against those who don’t want peace. Which of course has me wondering how that would solve the problem.

Leave a Reply

