i really don't like riding the bus

And this is why:

The suspect, who appeared to be in her late teens, wanted to get off the Route 62 bus at a location that was not a stop, Gibbons said. The driver proceeded to the nearest stop and the passenger sprayed him as she got off on Rice Street at Maryland Avenue, he said. It happened just before 10 p.m. on Friday.

Granted, this isn’t my bus line, but it’s in my area, and I could totally see this happening on my route.  People are getting more and more vebally abusive of drivers and fellow passengers, and everyone is too scared to stand up to the hecklers.  I’ve been both the hecklee and one of the people too frightened to say anything.

A few days back, a mother was walloping her child with a shoe and everyone looked the other way.  People spew every vile and filthy word known to man, everyone looks the other way.   People blast their cruddy music, everyone looks the other way.  People deal drugs, everyone look the other way.

But, it could be worse.  On AbuS’ bus line to work, the police actually ride along, as there have been so many problems.  He’s thinking of asking them to do the same on the route to our house.

I ride the bus for a number of reasons.  One, it’s cheaper than driving.  Two, it’s better for the environment.  And three, it affords me 2 hours each day to listen to my ipod and read.  But, if I have to risk my safety, I may have to start driving.

4 thoughts on “i really don't like riding the bus

  1. As-Salaamu ‘alaikum,

    When I was doing driving work I used to use buses quite often, and the problem of people being scared to intervene when someone’s being attacked, or someone is just behaving anti-socially, is well-known here as well. People just put up with it because they are scared of being attacked themselves. I like going by bus normally because it gives you time to read that you don’t get when you’re driving, but there’s no real protection when there’s someone acting up (no, CCTV isn’t much comfort).

  2. wa alaikum assalam,

    Sadly it seems people are the same everywhere. I never understood the “don’t snitch” movement until I moved into a neighborhood where I felt unsafe. The one time I did call the police, I was worried for weeks aftewards that there would be retribution against me. *sigh*

  3. As-Salaamu ‘alaikum,

    It’s tempting to explain the “don’t snitch” mentality in terms of certain neighbourhoods’ residents are either criminals or closely related to one, but that’s not the whole story. People may well have looked to the authorities for support and been disappointed as they often enforce the rules when it’s just easy and refuse when it’s actually necessary. The police here are known to be more interested in reuniting stolen cars with their owners than catching rapists, because car theft is an easy crime to solve while dealing with r-a-p-e requires a bit of leg-work.

    But you do get the aspect of people just being angry at getting busted, or having their friends/family busted, when they’ve done wrong. Jamerican Muslima posted something about this mentality a few months back (search on her blog for “ride or die”).

Leave a Reply

