ramadan reflections

Alhamdulilah, Ramadan is the month of the Qur’an, which motivates muslims everywhere to dust off their mushaf and reengage with Allah’s (swt) word, even if only for this month.

Reading through the second juz yesterday, I came upon the verses of fasting and Ramadan.  In the middle of them was this verse that really stuck in my mind:

And when My servants ask you concerning Me, then surely I am very near; I answer the prayer of the suppliant when he calls on Me, so they should answer My call and believe in Me that they may walk in the right way. (2:186)

One complaint I’ve heard often from polemicists is that Allah (swt) is a distant, unknowable diety.  How clear is it from Allah (swt) Himself that this is not the case?

Then reflect on the fact that Allah (swt) is near to you.  How then should we act, knowing that He is?

Anyone else have relections on this ayah?  Or on anything they’ve read this Ramadan?

2 thoughts on “ramadan reflections

  1. The placement of this ayah has always made me think that it was a way of reassuring those who struggle with the fast; He is right there to strengthen you if you only ask.

Leave a Reply

