imagine you get to meet the president…

…certainly you’d get up early, shower, put on your best clothes, practice what you’d like to say to him and then leave a few hours early, just to make sure you wouldn’t be late.

Well, this last weekend, I didn’t have the opportunity to actually meet the president, but  I did get to see the president, alhamdulilah.  And of course, I got up early, put on nice clothes, and left the house at 6:45 a.m., to go and wait in line for the rally that ultimately took place at 12:50 p.m.

Alas, my camera, despite being plugged in all night, decided to run out of batteries before the president got there.  Not that any pictures I would take would have been particularly interesting, as we were seated on the exact other side of the stadium, but still, it was an amazing day.  Alhamdulilah, I saw a ton of hijabi sisters, including a sister from the masjid.  We left fired up and ready to go work towards bringing about healthcare reform.

Keith Ellison, along with Minnesota’s senators, rode with the president on air force 1 to Minneapolis.  Nice goatee Keith!

Is Obama perfect?  No.  Is he the answer to all the world’s problems?  No.  Is he the messiah?   Astaghfirullah.

But, he does give me hope that things may get better, inshaAllah.

 

Now, for a little reflection on my own part.  I spent 8 hours Saturday on Barack Obama.  How much time did I spend on Allah (swt)?  Did I spend even 30 minutes with His Word, the Qur’an?  Did I get up hours before fajr and eagerly await it’s arrival?   After all, we meet Allah (swt) in our prayer.  We’re talking to Him and He is responding to us!  I didn’t even get to shake Barack Obama’s hand, let alone speak to him, but the Creator of the universe spoke to me in my salat.

How thrilled would I have been if Obama had said merely hello to me?  I probably would have squeed, swooned and fainted.  Yet Allah (swt) tells me that I shall have what I ask for and I’m all meh.  Astaghfirullah.

May Allah (swt) give me khushoo in my salat and excite my heart to rush to meet Him every day, ameen.

2 thoughts on “imagine you get to meet the president…

  1. I cannot think of a single politician I would wait in line to meet and definitely no swooning over Obama, but I still need a great deal more khushoo in and eagerness for my prayer.

Leave a Reply

