signs

Most surely in the heavens and the earth there are signs for the believers (Qur’an, 45:2)

When I was younger, I spent a lot of time in the great outdoors, hiking, camping and backpacking.  In recent years, I’ve spent less time outside, but inshaAllah one of these days, I’ll manage to drag AbuS out camping.

Until then, I have my own little fuzzy ball of nature to observe and reflect upon.  Yes, of course I’m talking about my kitty ;)

I’d noticed that sometimes, she would lower her head to her bowl and drink, and other times, she would dip her paw into it, and lick the water from her paw. 

Curious, I inquired on my cat forum about this seemingly odd behavior.  The answer I got back makes me go subhanAllah!

Apparently, when her ancestors lived out in the wild and would need to drink, they’d often find a fast moving river.  It wasn’t safe to stick their head in it to drink, so instead, they’d put their paws in and get water that way.

Now Squeaky has, to the best of my knowledge, always been an indoor kind of kitteh.  She’s never had to drink from the river.  And yet, this knowledge is ingrained in her, a gift from Allah (swt), so that in case she were ever in that situation, she would be prepared.  This then got me thinking about instinct, and what we know how to do without anyone teaching us.  SubhanAllah, Allah (swt) gives us the tools to meet the challenges we will face!  Awesome!

Leave a Reply

