the weekly squeaky

in which we make ice cream.

I had mentioned in passing that I had a long list of household goodies to purchase, one of which was an ice cream maker.  My good friend Rebecca just so happened to have an ice cream maker she wasn’t using, and offered it to me.  We got it this weekend and of course had to put it to good use asap.

But first, HRH had to inspect the package:

I decided to try the Lemon Cheesecake Ice Cream recipe found in “The New Vegetarian Epicure,” (and of course now I have to add Love Soup to my wishlist because I remember hearing fabulous things about it.  I made a beyond tasty and spicy squash and roasted corn soup this weekend too.  Mmm, soup):

  • 1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • grated zest of 2 lemons (yellow only)
  • 3/4 cup + 1 Tbs sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup low fat butter milk

In a small enameled saucepan, combine the lemon juice, zest, sugar and water.  Heat to a simmer and stir until the sugar is completely dissolved.  Cool the syrup, then chill it.

Per Rebecca’s hint, we also chilled the assorted milk and lemon in the freezer for an hour or 2 before putting it all in the machine.  No picture of the actual process, because my counters are a mess and I couldn’t be bothered to clean it up.  I do have a picture of  the Squeaky Deaky in kitty loaf mode, chillin on the floor just outside the kitchen while the maker was working it’s magic.

20 minutes later though, we did get some rather tasty ice cream.  It was a bit melty, so next time I think I’ll let it go for 30 minutes, and a bit icey, but I think that was a function of the recipe rather than the maker.

MMMMMMMMMMMmmmm!  JazakAllah khair Rebecca!

2 thoughts on “the weekly squeaky

  1. Assalamu Alaikum,

    Check the after thanksgiving and after christmas sales, because I’ve gotten quite a few appliances cheap at that time. And ask AbuLayth for one as an eid gift ;)

Leave a Reply

