today’s exercise in positive thinking

I have a tendency to get down really easily.  Something disappoints me or makes me sad and it’s a long slow spiral into the depths of despair.

One thing I’m going to try to do to combat this is to find the positives in the negatives.  If something depresses me, I’ll do my best to find something to be thankful for in that situation.

So today is a generally dreary day.  No sun, below freezing, yet no snow to make a crisp winter landscape.  All in all a good day to be down in the dumps.

Ah no, there are things to be thankful for.

Alhamdulilah for the cold, because it means I can dig out my sweater collection.   Yaay for sweaters.

Alhamdulilah for the cold, because it makes it easier to be a hijabi.  Everyone is covered from head to toe in the winter, so I finally blend in.

Alhamdulilah for the cold, because it gives me an excuse to make lots of soup. 

Alhamdulilah for the cold, because there’s nothing like coming in from outside and drinking a warm cup of hot chocolate.

Alhamdulilah for the cold, because it means I get to snuggle under blankets on the couch and read all evening. 

Now I just need to get a snuggie (or a slanket) so that I can easily pick up the Squeakster for couch cuddling.  Sometimes she’ll jump up to sit on my lap, but sometimes I have to pick her up if I want to get some cat time.  Have you ever tried to pick up a cat while maintaining a blanket hold?  Or covered yourself up with a cat already on your stomach?  I swear, the inventer(s) of the snuggie/slanket had freezing cold cat lovers in mind when they invented a blanket with sleeves.

So what gets you down?  And what are you thankful for?

One thought on “today’s exercise in positive thinking

  1. Ah, yes, the cold. I don’t like it. What a great post. I always look for the brighter side of things and now you have just given me some great reasons to be thankful for cold weather. Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

