am I one of the hypocrites?

`Umar b. al-Khattâb – whose piety and faith we all attest to – feared falling into hypocrisy. This is why he went to Hudhayfah, the person whom the Prophet (peace be upon him) disclosed the identity of Madinah’s hypocrites, and asked him if he were one of them.

Hudhayfah said to `Umar: “No, you are not one of them. And I will never again attest to anyone’ status.”

Are we better muslims than Umar ibn al-Khattab (ra)?  Steer a course between hope and fear.  That is where salvation lies.  Never rely too much on the Mercy of Allah (swt), and cease to fear His Wrath.  If He so willed it, He could strike us dead at our first disregard for His command.  Instead, He allows us to repent, to seek forgiveness and strive to do better.  Do not let a day go by that you do not reflect on your state and try to improve it.

Seek the pleasure of Allah (swt) always.

JazakAllah khair to Rebecca for an email correspondence that lead me to think about this.

I need to get a little cartoon of a hijabi standing on a soap box waving her arms around her head.  That’s what I feel like when I make these posts, but sometimes I’ve got this urge to preach.  Anyone know of a good cartoonist who draws good hijabis?

2 thoughts on “am I one of the hypocrites?

  1. Ah, that’s a fabulous idea. I seem to remember her old website and muslim dolls. I’ll contact her and see what she can do inshaAllah :)

Leave a Reply

