a south east asian vegetarian supper…

…prepared with the help of my cooking assistant, the Squeaky Deaky.

Green Beans and Tofu with Thai Peanut Sauce.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce – with my modifications.  This is the first time I made it, and will probably make it again with further modifications.  It seems a little bland, so I think I’ll have to use more potent pepper flakes than my normal Penzey’s Aleppo pepper.  Maybe 1 cup of coconut milk and more lime juice?

  • 1 1/2 cups creamy peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 T hot pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger root
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro (I used dry, but would use fresh if I had had it)

In a bowl, mix the peanut butter, coconut milk, water, lime juice, soy sauce, pepper flakes, ginger, and garlic.  Let sit in the fridge for at least a day for the flavors to mingle.  It really makes a ton of difference.  Mix in the cilantro just before serving.

I had quite a bit of quasi help from the Squeakster, mainly consisting of rolling around and looking cute while I was trying to fry up the tofu.

Leave a Reply

