small things

‘A’isha (ra) related that the Prophet (saws) aid :

The deeds most loved by Allah (swt) are those done regularly, even if they are small. (Bukhari, Muslim)

SubhanAllah, this is really good advice for everything in life.  Heck, this is even how Allah (swt) has created our bodies.  Crash diets don’t work.  Consistently changing what you eat, something you maintain day to day over a long period does.  Crash exercising doesn’t work.  You’ve got to be consistent in it, x times per week, every week, all year, inshaAllah.

How often do we try to make major changes, only to fall away because it gets too overwhelming? 

Went to the gym last night, for the first time in a year.  As much as I wanted to join the group fitness, it looked a wee bit too intense.  Instead, I did 40 minutes on the treadmill, at the fastest walking pace I could go without breaking into a run, using the hill function.  Got my pulse up, but I didn’t feel like I wanted to quit, as I probably would have if I had done the class.  Then lifted some weights.  Again, nothing huge. 

It’s sad to see how much I’ve lost in my year of inactivity.  I used to be able to run 6 miles, do advanced step aerobics for an hour, and lift 5 or 6 times more than I can wimp out today.  But I didn’t get there overnight, and inshaAllah I’ll get there again, taking one small, consistent step at a time.

7 thoughts on “small things

  1. Yay for you! It is a bit hard but give yourself a few weeks on the treadmill than go for the class! I was so glad I did that. I’ve been doing kickboxing for about 2 weeks 3x a week and it’s been great!

  2. Ooo, kickboxing. That was another one I used to be able to do a whole hour of without keeling over :( Gotta keep telling myself, small but consistent, small but consistent…

    Also, are you going to be up in the TC anytime soon? We should have lunch.

  3. We have a trial at the beginning of March, so definitely not before then. Seeing how things are at work, I may take off a week sometime after that to go down to Madison and then up to central wisconsin.

  4. Probably no running any time soon, but maybe next year. But this year still, I’ll let you know when I’m in mad town.

Leave a Reply

