an angel

From Dar ul Islam’s article Salat: Postures of the Prophets (saws):

There is a story of Hazrat Abdul Qadir Jilani (ra), who one morning was about to miss the time of the morning prayer. A cat came over to his side as he lay asleep, and began nudging Abdul Qadir, until he awoke. Noticing the lateness of the time, he quickly offered his two Rakats of prayer. When he had finished, he looked at the cat, and with his spiritual insight, he saw that the cat was actually a satan. This puzzled the great saint, as to why a satan would wake him up for prayer. So he asked, “I can see you are a satan, but why on earth did you wake me up for the Fajr prayer?”

The cat answered him, “You are just as pious and clever as my fellow satans said you were. Since you’ve discovered me, I might as well tell you. I knew, that if you missed your obligatory prayer, you would have offered 100 Rakats as compensation, so I woke you up so you would only get the benefits of two.

The Squeakster is usually awake and demanding food by 6:00 a.m., which coincidentally wakes us up for fajr prayer if we sleep through our alarm.  Since I probably would just half heartedly make up the 2 rakats of fajr when I woke up and not offer any extras, she’s doing me a favor by making sure I pray them on time.  Ergo, she must be an angel in disguise ;-)

4 thoughts on “an angel

  1. assalam alaikum !

    Indeed! My cat too comes waking me up at just aroudn fajr time! sometimes.
    I have observed and felt several times-my cat in its normal state of being looks so pure and spiritual like almost in Muraqaba ( when it sits calmly with folded hands ( am sure most people owned by cats would say that) but it is true i wish i could send its picture to you!

    I always look forward to your posts since there is much to learn and interesting bits-keep up the gud work sis!

    Jazakallah khair’

    • wa alaikum assalam,

      If you can, upload a few pictures into photobucket.com and leave a link for me. I absolutely love to see other kitties, especially muslim ones ;-) Thank you so much for your kind comment.

  2. Assalamualaikum

    I stumble upon your blog via your banner from IB. I have an adult cat that is as the same size as yours but mine is gray in colour.

    Like the both of you my cat also does this in the morning without fail :)

Leave a Reply

