thankful

Alhamdulilah, Allah (swt) keeps putting me in situations to be thankful and remember Him.

While waiting for my bus in downtown Saint Paul, one of my fellow bus travelers was almost mowed down by a jerk in an SUV who thought she could turn without watching for pedestrians.  Alhamdulilah he’s ok, but it left me shaken.   That could have been any one of us.  That could have been me!

As I reflected on the situation more, I thought about my own health and safety.  There are a million opportunities each day to be injured.  Every time we cross the road, we could be hit by a careless driver.  Every time we get in the car, it could be our last drive.   All it takes is one little error, one little slip up on the part of a fallible human being, and we’re finished.  And that’s only scratching the surface.  Alhamdulilah, our food and water are mostly safe.  Alhamdulilah, we’re healthy most of the time.  Alhamdulilah, we have safe places to live.

Alhamdulilah, most of the time we are safe, and for that, we should be ever grateful.

3 thoughts on “thankful

  1. I almost got clobbered by a van full of women on cellphones on the way home after writing this post >:( People, put down the cellphone while you’re driving!

Leave a Reply

