7 things

I was tagged a few weeks back, and bad blogger that I am, I have been putting it off.  I was going to do something well thought out, like 7 things I’d like to do with my life, but instead, here are just 7 random things I’m thinking about:

1.  I’ve finally gotten around to seeing the movie Food Inc. and OMGoodness, it’s amazing!  I’ve already added it to my birthday wish list.  AbuS and I are watching it in 15 minute chunks (all the time I can spare these days), and we’re learning a lot.  The husband finally understands what I’ve been babbling about these last few years in terms of natural foods, factory farms, franken foods, etc etc etc.  I’ve even got a tentative agreement that we’ll start buying organic and get a CSA share.   The movie was so convincing, I’ve also almost got him to agree that we should seek out a local farmer that raises grass fed, organic, sustainable animals to work out a zabiha slaughter deal.  Alhamdulilah!

2.  The key to losing weight is to convince yourself that it feels better to see the numbers on the scale move downward than to eat that big, greasy slice of pizza.

3.  I love cookbooks.  My idea of a good time is to pick up a new cookbook and read it cover to cover.  I brought the New Vegetarian Epicure on the bus with me this morning for a re-read.

4.  I like dhikr beads.  A lot.  AbuS does not.

5.  I miss sugar.   And soda.  Ohhhh, pepsi.

6.  On that note, one of my regrets in life is that I didn’t have a ham sandwich one last time before I converted.  And a big ol pile o bacon.

7.  Can you tell I’m obsessing about food?  Just a little bit?  But, gotta keep telling myself, it feels better to lose weight than to eat those scrambled eggs and hashbrowns.  Oatmeal good, hashbrowns, not so good.  Losing 4 lbs so far, very good.

And now, dear blurkers, tell me 7 things about you.  Yes, I am tagging my blurkers :)

6 thoughts on “7 things

  1. no food on Earth can compete with the taste of victory. ever. i honestly would rather run 5 miles than eat ice cream any day. never thought I would ever feel that way.

    good luck in your quest, email me if you need any tips…been there, done it all!

  2. :-) Aye aye, Ma’am! 7 random things about me:

    1. Like UmmS, I love food. I used to be able to eat 6 plates in 1 sitting, eat 5 heavy meals (carb rich) a day and stay a svelte 99 pounds. Those days are long over!

    2. The key to losing weight for me is having consistency with my workouts, eating regular meals and cutting out foods that upset my stomach and make me bloated (water is heavy, ya see?) Unfortunately I am not really consistent with my workouts (I have the Wii and use some exercise videos) and sometimes I give in to the temptation of eating wheat and dairy. Haha. Oh yeah, and logging in regularly to Sparkpeople.com. Which I haven’t been doing lately… sigh.

    3. Like UmmS, I love cats a LOT. I have 6 of them (Pongkey, Bubu, Jang Jang, Hakusho, Jimmy and Chunky). All 6 of them got the cat flu, but alhamdulillah 5 of them recovered. Only Chunky had a lung infection to boot, and I really hope she gets better soon.

    4. I like dhikr beads too! Hubby doesn’t mind them.

    5. I follow the Blood Type Diet loosely. It did help me a lot with my upset stomach. It helps that I am an O, so yay for lamb, curry, peppers, broccoli and mangos!

    6. I started buying some of my veggies and noodles organic. Bottled organic passata tastes really good, so do organic cherry tomatoes!

    7. I love to sew, I make my own hijabs and am learning to make tops and skirts. Some are turning out okay, my skirts leave a lot to be desired though. Oh well, as Trudy from Hotpatterns says (lovely patterns, can be modifed to be modest, insha Allah will buy from her some day), ‘feel the fear, and do it anyway’!

    • My apologies, this comment was in my spam folder. I’ll have to check it more often.

      I would looooooooove to see pictures of your kitties.

  3. As-Salaamu ‘alaikum,

    I never missed pork actually; I came to dislike the smell of it cooking in particular … it was cutting out the music that was the most difficult. I could stop putting it on but I couldn’t stop it going round in my head.

  4. wa alaikum assalam,

    Music is definitely hard. I was just talking with AbuS about it. If I have to listen to music, I’ll listen to nasheed, so if it’s stuck in my head, at least it’s a good subject.

Leave a Reply

