dear Lou Ann Zelenik

I have news for you.  I’m a muslim and I’m an american citizen.  I’m married to an american citizen.  Most of the muslims I know are american citizens.  Most muslims in america are citizens.

“Until the American Muslim community find it in their hearts to separate themselves from their evil, radical counterparts, to condemn those who want to destroy our civilization and will fight against them, we are not obligated to open our society to any of them,” Zelenik says in the statement.

You have no control over whether or not to open YOUR society to us.  This is OUR society too.  And it’s open to us to worship and practice our religion freely.

Unless of course you’re proposing stripping us of our constitutional rights and/or citizenship.   But then, that’s a whole ‘nother ball of wax, isn’t it?  I thought conservatives were all about spearheading the right to freedom of worship and were fierce defenders of the constitution.  At least that’s what it says on your website:

“Our shared beliefs of faith, family and freedom, resonate from our courthouses to our neighborhoods and farming communities. Standing on principle, it is time to put people before politics. The special interests have had control of our government long enough. It is time to put our nation back on a Constitutional path. I would be honored to earn your support.”

I’m confused.  How are you planning on putting this country back on a constitutional path when you’re aiming to remove rights guaranteed in that very document to a subset of citizens?

Sincerely,

UmmSqueakster
aka mother of the Squeakster, an american muslim, proud participant in our political system and exerciser of the right to freedom of worship

8 thoughts on “dear Lou Ann Zelenik

  1. She (Lou Ann Zelenik) scares me too. And I’m a white, Christian female local yokel bubbette.

    I apologize for her and those of her ilk.

    Sharon

  2. NeverEver – I do see that there are people who are standing up to her idiocy. I hope you have people like that where you live to inshaAllah.

    Sharon – no need to apologize. So long as you didn’t vote for her, she’s not your responsibility :) Plus, I live right next to the district of the infamous Michelle Bachmann. One would think I’m used to crazy talk from politicians after listening to her blab since 2006, ha.

  3. Thank you for your excellent statement of the case. I am a 60+ Southern woman, Zelenik is running to replace my congressman and I am very much afraid that she may get elected. I hope that your letter to her is appearing someplace where it can be seen by people in our district.

    Congratulations on living in Minnesota. I sympathize with you on Bachmann. What a scary place her mind must be. Love the cat!!!

    • Jo, my sympathies that you have to put up with this! I’ve been following the brewing controversy re: the new mosque and have been very happy to see that there are large numbers of people who are standing up for the true american spirit of welcoming one’s neighbors, even if they are a bit different.

      I’ve always loved Tennessee, and am jealous that you had such beautiful national parks like the Smoky Mountains. I’m still planning on dragging my husband down to see them someday, once I can convince him that camping is something fun. I hope that you get a representative who will truly represent your district, and not a fear monger who only wishes to represent a select few.

  4. Regarding camping in the Smokies….wait until chigger and tick season ends! :)

    sharon

    p.s. I bookmarked your site…like it!

  5. Sharon and I are actually friends. She directed me to your site. We have both been beside ourselves about the possibility of this woman getting elected.

    Don’t mention the chiggers and ticks to the hubby!

  6. alhamdulillah inside the small city where I live we are okay, not many problems

    but when we leave our immediate city… things get a little rocky with the locals occasionally

Leave a Reply

