i *heart* Jon Stewart…

…but only in a completely zabiha kinda way, of course.

I literally stood up and applauded this clip.  Srsly watch it ASAP if you haven’t already.

After my initial giddiness subsided though, I started to reflect on the current state of being muslim in america.  I don’t have much experience as a muslim pre 9/11, but looking back over these last 9 years, I can’t remember a time where there was such outright hostility organized against us.  Yes, it was scary right after.  The small town where I was going to school woke up and was like, no way, there are muslims here.  The university was like, uh yeah guys, try to keep a low profile.  Cars were keyed, people were harrased, etc etc.  But, it didn’t last long, alhamdulilah.

I’ve spent the rest of my time post 9/11 in areas with a lot more muslims – Madison and the Twin Cities, and I will say that alhamdulilah, it’s been good.

But when I look at the growing anti-masjid movement that is swelling across the country, I can’t help but be worried.  There are a lot of people who don’t want us (ie american muslims) here.  Oh, they’ve always been there, but it’s just that now, they seem to be getting a lot more organized and are speaking more loudly.  For all the blah blah blah about “oh, we don’t object to a mosque being built in NY, just not on ground 0,” there are half a dozen more places across the country where people are being forthright and saying, nope, sorry, we don’t want you here.

So what is an american muslim to do?  Ignore?  Engage?  And if we’re to engage, attempt to talk to these people?  Or instead find allies and work with them?

5 thoughts on “i *heart* Jon Stewart…

    • Hey, long time no see! I was just thinking about you the other day and wondering where the heck you’d gone to :) Hope you’re well.

Leave a Reply

