a colorful (food) rule to live by

taste the rainbow…

…of veggies, not skittles

No surprise here, vegetables are good for you.  Really really good for you.  And eating a wide variety across the color spectrum is even better for you.  In addition to starting lunch and dinner with a piece of fruit, I’ve taken to eating a fair amount of vegetables before I start on anything else in the meal.  I know the food pyramid has the bread group at the bottom, but if I had to design a food pyramid, I’d stick fruits and veggies down there in the “eat this the most” area.

Try to get to know vegetables without adding too much too them.  Although slathering them in cheese might be tasty, it kind of defeats the purpose.  My current favorite is to dump half a bag of mixed frozen vegetables in a bowl, microwave until almost done, then add 1/2 tsp of butter + jamaican jerk seasoning, then resume microwaving until the butter is melted and veggies are warm.  Mmm mmm mmm.

photo from flickr, by computix

*standard disclaimer – I am not a doctor, nor a professional nutritionist.  I claim no expertise.  These rules are simply what I’ve gleaned from reading way too much about healthy and sustainable eating habits.  Thus far, they’ve helped me lose 22 lbs and counting.  Woohoo 1/3 of the way to my goal!*

Leave a Reply

