talk me down

Dear respected sisters in islam,

I almost went ballistic on ya’ll today.  I know, I know, I’m fasting, I’m fasting, I’m fasting, I’m fasting, I’m fasting.  But really, I can only say it so often.

Please, for the sake of Allah (swt) and all that is good, consider these following points:

  1. It is makhruh, if not outright haram, to talk and distract others during the khutbah.
  2. Remember when the imam says “straighten the lines, fill in the gaps?”  That isn’t just for the menfolk.  How hard is it to make a straight line and stand next to one another???  Do I really need to tell everyone to move forward, fill in the gaps and straighten their lines?  I’m not even talking feet overlapping salafi style, just simply not having a 5 foot gaping hole in ever line.

Ya Allah, give me patiences.

Sincerely,

your sister in islam,

UmmSqueakster

5 thoughts on “talk me down

  1. Oh I so hear you on this!

    After Iftar I went in the bathroom and saw the small trashcan there overflowing with plates. (Nevermind the fact that we have a huge trashcan for food in the women’s area, it’s too hard to walk the extra 10 steps.)

    So I get a trash bag and start pulling out plates from the overflowing can. This sister walks in the bathroom, sees me in front of this overflowing trash can bagging it up, shrugs, and throws her lollypop stick on ME.

    May Allah forgive me, I gave her a piece of my mind.

  2. Hahahahaha…..

    Number 2 too funny

    too funny and TOO true!!!!

    We have the same problem here in the UK in our non- salafi mosques….the women will stand apart and think nothing of it. Toooooo annoying.

  3. from what I have learned, we only pray two rakats at Jummah because the other two are substituted by listening to the khutbah. which makes LISTENING to the khutbah a sort of ibadah right?

    so yeah chicas. shut your dang mouths!

    i say it is haraaaaaaaaaaam! and you may quote me until I am proven wrong.

Leave a Reply

