the weekly squeaky

in which the Squeakster has an excellent adventure.

I spent my iftar yesterday sitting out side with the masjid, with my cat.  Now why would someone bring their cat to the masjid?  I’ll tell you why.  As AbuS and I were preparing to leave yesterday, what should happen, but the fire alarm should start to blare.  We look at each other and are like, uh oh, what about the cat?  99.9999% of the time, it’s just some stupid kid who’s pulled it as a prank, but heaven forbid it actually be a fire this time and we leave poor Squeaky to be roasted.

So we did what every good cat parent would do – we took her with us.  Now Squeaky loves her carrier, so it’s not a problem getting her in.  She loves sleeping in it, and will easily go in when told (thanks to AbuS’ training).  It’s only once we actually pick it up that she senses “uh oh, we’re going to the car,” and then the cat doth protesteth too much.

Let’s just say she’s not a fan of cars and lets us know at the top of her little lungs.  She’s only been in the car with us 4 times – once coming home from the humane society, twice for the vet and then yesterday.  And each time it’s the same “meow! meow! meow meow meowwwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!”  Trying to sooth her with speech and petting doesn’t work, nor does bribing her with treats.  So the best we can do is put the peddle to the metal (to the speed limit of course), and get it done as fast as possible.

And thus, I ended up with my plate o food sitting on the pavement outside the masjid, with curious kiddos looking at the carrier.  Thinking they’d like to pet her, I foolishly opened the carrier and sproing!!!  Out pops the Squeaky.  she wanted to go out and explore.  What was the point of taking a horrible car ride if all she got at the end was to sit in her carrier and stare out at the world through tiny bars?

Alas, I had not thought to bring her harness and leash, so I managed to shove her back in (and got a taste of the typical cat experience vis a vi carriers), and finished my plate with her meowing pitifully at my side.

Ok, now that I’ve typed it all out, it doesn’t sound so exciting, but it was quite nerve wracking yesterday.  Alhamdulilah, no real fire, and the Squeaky is no worse for wear.  And, I got to do some cat dawah, and planted a cat loving seed in some people who may perhaps come visit our shelter and adopt one of their own :)

2 thoughts on “the weekly squeaky

  1. Actually that does sound rather nerve-wracking, to me at least. My heart almost stopped when reading about her escaping her carrier. I am glad you managed to get her back in, but sorry about the tussle. I remember the times my one of my cats escaped from her carrier: once I ended up crawling through a drain to get her. The second time she made me squeeze (on my belly!) through a pile of planks. Both times I was wearing a skirt. Ha!
    All of my cats love their car rides except one: we found her as a tiny kitten shivering by the roadside in the rain. We suspect she got abandoned by her previous owners who drove her there and left her, because to this day she hates car rides. She gets all nervy and shivery.

Leave a Reply

