i (haven’t) been tagged

But that isn’t going to stop me from responding to this tag that’s going around the blogosphere :)

Books I’ve read recently…

1. The Noble Qur’an, translated by Abdalhaqq and Aisha Bewley

2. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (if you haven’t picked this one up yet, do it!  Don’t let the fact that it’s a YA book scare you off.  In fact, this last installment is probably best for YAs who are closer to Y end of the spectrum.   Pretty heavy subject matter.  Also, the author is coming to town at the beginning of October, and guess who is going to be first in line?)

3. Wisdom for the Seeker by Sh. Zulfiqar Ahmad Naqshbandi (if you want to draw sufi sympathizers out of the woodwork, carry this book around.  I brought it with me to read after iftar on Saturday and 2 people asked me about it)

4. Stolen Lives by Malika Oufkir (I’m pulling all the books off my shelf that I haven’t yet read, to read so that I can get rid of them before moving.  Not quite sure how I feel about this one.  It’s a horrible story, but something grates me the wrong way about the author)

5. Death Star by Michael Reeves and Steve Perry (can’t go too long without reading a SW novel)

Songs or albums I listen to all the time…
I really don’t listen to music.  I’m a podcast kinda gal:

1.  NPR’s Shuffle and Most Emailed
2.  Sh. Husain’s Sacred Learning

3. Sh. Faraz’ SeekersGuidance

4. NPR’s Planet Money

5.  NPR’s Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me

I love…

1. Allah (swt)

2. AbuS

3. Squeaky

4. Reading and books

5. Nature

Things I’ve learned this year…

1. That by eating less and exercising more, you can lose weight

2. That being healthy is more important than eating fatty foods

3. Almost anyone can lose weight if they put their mind to it

4. That sometimes medication is the answer

5. That being vitamin D deficient sucks big time

New recipes I want to try and make…

1.  Something new and exciting with lentils that doesn’t involve soup

2.  Whole wheat tortillas

3.  Some bean recipe that AbuS will really like (for a guy who eats ful for breakfast, he’s strangely not a fan of most bean dishes I make)

4.  More recipes from Kneadlessly Simple (I’ve been stuck on pot bread and a whole wheat loaf – both so good I haven’t needed to try anything else)

5.  Something thai that doesn’t include copious amounts of oil or coconut milk

Favorite online hangouts…

1. Browsing various blogs
2.  With my girls at WW_MM

3. Islamicaweb

4. Sunniforum

5. theCatSite

Projects I need to work on…

1. Finding a sheikh

2. Keeping a cleaner/more organized apartment

3. Something to benefit the muslim community

4. Start working on more of the food rules series

5. Getting back into the swing of exercising after Ramadan

Leave a Reply

