alhamdulilah

We signed the lease on our new apartment last night.  Alhamdulilah.  It seems too good to be true:

  • 100% no smoking complex
  • Specific lease addendum addresses noise made after 10 pm
  • Hardwood floor
  • Nice owner
  • Close to work
  • On a bus line
  • 2 miles from my gym
  • 2 miles from my cat shelter

We move in October 1st and alhamdulilah my dad has offered to take 3 days off from work to help us.  He’ll be arriving on the 29th, when we’ll load up the truck.  The 30th, we’ll have our walk through of our old apartment, then I’ll take my dad to his version of paradise – a used record store, followed by a Twins Game at the new stadium I helped build (via a tax hike).  Then, the 1st, we’ll move things in the morning.  And, on the 2nd, I’ll get to go and meet Suzanne Collins, author of the Hunger Game and Gregor the Overlander series.  Alhamdulilah!

We stopped at a slightly (in)famous masjid on our way home, one that has been mentioned in connection with the missing minnesota somalis.  It’s not right next door to our new apartment, but it only a few miles away.  Alhamdulilah, they provide an iftar every night, so we prayed maghrib in jama’ah and had fried somosas, rice and chicken for iftar.  Definitely can’t do that every night, but once a week probably won’t hurt my diet too much, right?

Alhamdulilah as well, I talked with a few younger sisters about what events go on at the masjid throughout the year and alhamdulilah, they offer a beginning tajweed class, as well as a sister’s halaqa.  They also offer tutoring for high school students, so I may sign up to help with english.

I feel a slight bit of trepidation to become involved in a masjid that has been investigated by the government, but in all my experiences there, I haven’t experienced anything other than normal, mainstream beliefs and certainly no preaching to get the kids to join al shabab.

Overall though, alhamdulilah!

Leave a Reply

