squeaky at week’s end

Alas, still no pictures of the Squeakster in her new digs, so here’s another from the archives:

Which ties into another subject – side benefits of hijab.  First, it’s a salaams generating machine.  When hijabis see one another (in my city at least), 9 times out of 10 they’ll smile and exchange salaams.  Second, it’s a way to make new friends.  As I sat waiting for the bus yesterday, a fellow hijabi sat down next to me and said salaams.  Most of the time, that’s the end of the exchange, but every once in awhile, a conversation will start.  This sister is a russian convert to islam who happens to live a few blocks from me.  And bonus, she likes cats!  Phone numbers and emails were exchanged as were promises to get together inshaAllah.

This is also a benefit of living in the west.  If I lived in a country where the majority of women wore hijab, there wouldn’t be that feeling of, “ah, a fellow muslim, I must connect!” that I get here in Minne-snow-da.  I honestly don’t mind living way up here in the great frozen north most of the time, and it really isn’t all that bad.  After all, not only do I get to see lots of hijabis, I also get to wear sweaters most of the year (and I do love warm fuzzy sweaters).  And, we have oodles and oodles of winter squash.  Give me squash, a warm fuzzy sweater, a random nice hijabi, minnesota public radio and my cat, and I’m happy as a clam.  It would be better if the cold didn’t trigger my asthma, but this world isn’t jannah, so it can’t be perfect.

Alhamdulilah.

Also, I may just have to go out and buy some cabot sharp cheddar cheese this weekend, if only to support the creeping sharia of DOOM!

4 thoughts on “squeaky at week’s end

    • wa alaikum assalam,

      Cats of the feline variety, not the khat variety (although in Minnesota, it could very well be the latter).

    • Khat is a drug from somalia and yemen, and unfortunately it seems where ever you find people from those 2 countries, you also find khat.

Leave a Reply

