i’m not an inspiration…

…please do not see me as one.

I became muslim solely through the grace of God.  All praise is due to Him, and none to me.

la hawla wa la quwwata illa billah

Being a convert doesn’t grant me super special status.  My pitiful struggles in this life are nothing when you look to the great muslims of the past.  If you want a role model, look to the mothers of the believers (ra),  Rabia al-Adawwiya (ra), Sayyida Nafisa (ra) or any of the countless women who have dedicated themselves 110% to the deen and to Allah (swt).

Me?  I am nothing.  Please don’t put me on a pedestal.  It just means I’ll have a lot longer way to fall down.

7 thoughts on “i’m not an inspiration…

  1. Sister, I don’t know if this was a reaction to something specific, but if it was just a general thing – a lot of Muslims seem awed by converts, but this seems (to me!) to be more awe of Allah’s work and will as shown “through” the convert. Like, “wow, this chick grew up a Buddhist in a red light district, but Allah’s plan for her was Islam and here she is!” Then the born-and-bred Muslims are so gobsmacked by the whole chain of events that led the convert to Islam that they may in fact feel “inspired” to worship Allah with a greater fervor.

    Or something.

    • I posted a bit spiritual development thread on SF – speaking of which – get thyself over there and post in that thread!

    • The post is just the culmination of what I wish I could say to people at the masjid.

      Squeaky would be happy to be a role model. Henceforth, everyone shall lounge around and sleep 22 hours a day, play 30 minutes and eat for the remainder of the day.

  2. As-Salaamu ‘alaikum,

    I hate being asked questions about my conversion, let alone being seen as an ‘inspiration’ by anyone.

    Also, I fear that the recent spate of incidents of formerly well-known converts leaving Islam may actually lead to converts being seen as less trustworthy than other Muslims, even by other converts.

    • wa alaikum assalam wr wb,

      I don’t usually mind it. It’s just when the listener makes sweeping statements about how great my iman is that it bugs me.

      Thankfully, I don’t think that the muslim blogosphere is too well known outside the actual interwebs. I find that the only people I can talk blogs with are people who are also bloggers.

Leave a Reply

