heaven forbid anyone put primary importance on their faith…

…after all, this life is what, 80, 90, 100 years if we’re lucky?  And the here after is eternal?

Psh, of course one should be ashamed of their faith and hide it.  Silly silly muslims, identifying first and foremost as muslims.  Didn’t you know that being american is the be all and end all of life?  And will get you oh so far in the akhira?

O’Reilly has been looking for support for his own remarks on a recent episode of ABC’s The View in which he directly blamed Muslims for the Sept. 11, 2001, attacks. Co-hosts Joy Behar and Whoopi Goldberg walked off the set in the middle of his appearance.

Williams responded: “Look, Bill, I’m not a bigot. You know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country. But when I get on the plane, I got to tell you, if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous.”

NPR Ends Williams’ Contract After Muslim Remarks

edited from here on out:

I honestly can’t blame someone for being nervous flying on an airplane with muslims.  Yes, it sucks, but we’re only human.

But all the pundits who are whining and wringing their hands over his firing (when they were gleeful over the firing of Octavia Nasr) are missing WHY this statement is so offensive.

What I can blame Mr. Williams for is the stupidity of the comment implies that someone who “looks” muslim, identifies themselves publicly as one, is somehow inherently wrong to do so.  Look at this:

…if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous.”

He’s not thinking, oh, they’re muslim, I hope they’re not radical.  He’s thinking, oh, there are some muslims who are serious about their faith, and hold it in high regard and that’s a problem.

That, my dear readers, is the crux of the problem.

And aside from all that, logically, a smart terrorist would do everything in their power – shave, dress “western,” speak english, perhaps even change their name – so as not to draw attention to themselves, if they were planning a terrorist attack.

ps – I love NPR.

7 thoughts on “heaven forbid anyone put primary importance on their faith…

  1. “…after all, this life is what, 80, 90, 100 years if we’re lucky? And the here after is eternal?”

    Excellent post, and what I wanted to share may SEEM unrelated but isn’t…

    It’s not just about “putting primary importance on faith”. It’s about intelligence. My fate, my life, my world and my Hereafter, every breath I take, it’s all in the hands of my Creator. Why would I bother to listen to anybody else’s ideas about how I should/ shouldn’t dress?

    I get women sneering at me for letting myself “be dictated to” when it comes to hijab/ dress etc.

    But they are all dictated to, actually – by the media, by the current cultural imaginary concept of beauty/ cool/ style etc., by what their boyfriend likes.

    Me – no boyfriend, no magazine, no eccentric brilliant fashion designer dictates what I wear. Allah does. And, see, when it comes to eternity, boyfriends and magazines aren’t much help.

    So who’s the silly one then?

    • It amazes me that you get that kind of flack in a muslim country, but then, I guess nothing should surprise me anymore. One of these days iA AbuS and I are planning to visit Turkey, and we can walk down the street in all black together, just to scare people :P

      Excellent point on being dictated to. Everyone, if they honestly look at themselves, do look somewhere for their guidance.

  2. While firing Williams was harsh, it is true that had he spoke that way of ANY other group – it would have been a guarentee he would be let go. Helen Thomas, Rick Sanchez, and Octvia Nasser all canned for slighting Jews (not that it is ok) and no one made any comment about how unfair it was they lost their jobs (well very few).

    But for “looking” the part – I recently stopped covering my head – all other parts still more covered than most hijabis I see in this college town with my Shukr gear and you know what? I will enjoy NOT having a secondary screening when flying, being able to look at people as I walk through the store because I am not being cussed at or stared angrily at and so on. Yeah, I know I should beat myself up for my white priveledge (thus the luxury of rejoining the American fabric with ease) but removing my veil has made me a nobody and an everybody. I am just another pushing 40, slightly overweight mom in the Sam’s club. I am just as modest but now my faith is MY OWN – not the publics, not the fellow Muslims who freely judge my piety on my clothes, to no one but Me and my creator. It has improved my spirituality immensely.

    I know it is off topic but being the poster child for Islam (f0r the visible Muslim) is difficult when you don’t have answers for why so many Muslims, or Muslim countries act in such an unIslamic way. After 8 years of “its culture, not Islam” – I realize for many it is Islam.

    Anyhow, I am writing a novel. Thank you UmmS for being so you – I enjoy your blog immensely. I love my faith too, but want my parts to be my own again – not for public consumption if you will.

    • assalamu alaikum,

      No, please do continue to write novels. I appreciate your comment and totally feel where you’re coming from. It’s hard to be that visible sign of the faith – you get it from both sides, as you said. I think I’m probably just lucky I’m so oblivious to the world, that I don’t notice any negative attention I may be drawing. I’ve either got my nose in a book, or earbuds in my ears (with NPR on) and my nose to a game of solitaire on my ipod if I’m walking down the street, so I don’t notice if anyone is giving me judging looks.

      I try not to write about hijab as anything more than the occasional post on cool clothing, because I do think it’s an issue that is given way too much attention and importance in the greater scheme of things. I hope that you find the peace that you are looking for (and continue to rock the shukr gear – I’m looking through the after eid sale for my next set of purchases. I’m unfortunately at the point where my last crop of purchases is getting a bit ragged from being worn almost every day, but I don’t want to buy too much because it won’t fit if I ever do end up losing all the weight I’ve planned. Which is of course completely off topic, so I’ll shut up now, ha).

      • Yay, another Anne! And one who loves Shukr too, Masha’Allah! I’ve been ogling their corduroy jilbabs for years now, and I finally broke down and bought one. It is one of the nicest garments I’ve ever owned, Masha’Allah.

        @UmmS: I’m with you about hijab being given way more attention than I think it should. It’s just one aspect of faith, yet people treat it like it’s a sixth pillar. I also get annoyed at all of the justifications people make for wearing hijab, like “it’s scientifically proven that men are more visual”, “western fashion is far more oppressive than hijab”, etc. I think this is actually counterproductive because it implies that women wear it since men can’t control themselves (give men some credit, not to mention that it’s part of men’s hijab not to be staring at women anyway) or as a rebellion against societal beauty standards. I wear it as an act of worship, because I believe that ALLAH asks me to, and that’s that.

  3. 2 Annes is too many :P J/k. Did ya’ll have the same issue with having multiple Annes in your grade school classes? I once was in a class with 3 other Jennys. That was not fun.

    re: shukr – I was this, but alas, they don’t have that awesome fig color in my size – http://shukronline.com/wd0551.html

    re: hijab – exactly. But, when people start fear mongering over muslim garb, I get a little riled up and have to comment ;-)

Leave a Reply

