so who are you, dear readers?

I get 50 to 100 hits on my blog every day.  90% of those are probably me going back to check what new spam I received, but that still leaves 10 to 20 of you actually reading.  But I wonder, who are you (especially those who don’t comment)?

So please, dear readers, indulge my curiosity and answer a few questions sometime this weekend:

  1. Your online handle and it’s significance
  2. Do you have a cat?  And if so, how many and what are their names?
  3. How do you feel about cats?
  4. What name of Allah (swt) speaks to you the most?
  5. How do you label yourself, religion wise?
  6. If I could post more about one thing, what would it be?

And I do hope the usual suspects respond, as well as people who may just now be blurking.

JazakAllah khair!

Squeaky wants to know…who are you?

29 thoughts on “so who are you, dear readers?

  1. 1. I don’t know what online handle means! Ahh!

    2. Yes, 1. I’m embarrassed to say her name. Keep in mind that a) I’m not American hence didn’t realise about the name for weeks and b) her name tag was already printed when I found out: Coochie.

    3. LOVE!!!!

    4. Al Rahman and Al Raheem because they’re the ones I say the most and therefore the ones I associated with Allah SWT the most.

    5. Shi’a Muslim :D

    6. More scary outfit posts lol! One day I’d love to see a pic of those socks too ahaha.

  2. My name is Khawla Khalaf. I am a female aged 26 from the United Arab Emirates. I love cats and food. I am interested in the cultures of the East, especially the ones affected by Islam. I admire the Japanese culture and technology, and I like to wear Haori in the winter.

    Here are my answers to your questions:

    1. Your online handle and it’s significance
    >>> I am not sure how to answer this.

    2. Do you have a cat? And if so, how many and what are their names?
    >>> I do not have a cat. But, I have known many stray cats. I know Basbusa, Sangoor, Bunanna, Walad, Sharmoukh, Sharmoukha, Ginger, Furtoosh, Mishka, Boss, and Mystearica. I love them all!

    3. How do you feel about cats?
    >>> Life without cats can be very boring.

    4. What name of Allah (swt) speaks to you the most?
    >>> Al Ghafour (Accepts Repentence). May He accept our repentence, Amen.

    5. How do you label yourself, religion wise?
    >>> Moderate Sunni Muslim.

    6. If I could post more about one thing, what would it be?
    >>> More pictures of cats.

    • I had to google haori to find out what it was, and now I’m jealous. Those look very cool – but is there a winter in the UAE (or are you still in the UAE)?

      • You can buy cheap used haori online on ichiroya.com It gets as low as 19 in the UAE in winter. Of course there is winter here and I like it more than UAE’s scorching summer!

  3. # Your online handle and it’s significance
    # Do you have a cat? And if so, how many and what are their names?
    # How do you feel about cats?
    # What name of Allah (swt) speaks to you the most?
    # How do you label yourself, religion wise?
    # If I could post more about one thing, what would it be?

    1. My handle is just where I think I am in my life. Unsettled.

    2. I don’t have a cat but I really want one, maybe two :) Have to keep working on hubby though

    3. I was always a dog person before I converted. Had dogs since I was 4 years old. I’m looking forward to getting to know how kitties act and talk and relate to humans :)

    4. The Most Merciful. For me, this is God.

    5. Mmm, I am a liberal Progressive Muslim. Sunni but dabbling in Sufism

    6. So far I like what you post about, I love when you talk about daily things. You are a good writer and I am quite entertained by your posts :)

    Look forward to reading more! Take care!

    • Bugging and annoying him constantly is a tried and true strategy:

      Me – letsgetacatletsgetacatletsgetacatletsgetacatletsgetacatletsgetacat!

      AbuS – if I get you a cat, will you just shut?

      Me – yes!

      AbuS – here, take this cat and be quiet!

      Me – yaaay!

  4. 1. I, too, am confused about this question. :(
    2. I do not have a cat unfortunately, but Insha’Allah when I have a family I would love to get a couple cats to make it complete. :)
    3. I’ve always been a dog person, but I’ve realized cats can be just as lovable, and a lot less work.
    4. Al-Wadud, The Loving. I think it’s a homage to my Christian days where I was always taught that God loves us, and Islam is no different. I want to give my son or daughter (whichever comes first, Insha’Allah) the middle name Abdul-Wadud or Amatul-Wadud, as a proclamation that they serve the Loving God.
    5. Moderate Sunni Muslim
    6. I like it all, honestly. We have a lot in common. :)

    • I love the choice of names. I think that so many (oh heck all) of Allah (swt)’s names would be beautiful with the Abdul/Amatul :)

  5. 1) I have half a dozen handles, most of them contractions or permutations of my name.

    2) There used to be a orange-white tabby cat near my office I fed regularly. I called him Mishmish (peach/apricot). Sweet critter. Somebody adopted him.

    3) I like them…

    4) al-Rauf, the gentle.

    5) Practicing Muslim, but not sure about the meaning of “moderate”? Moderate is relative, in comparison to what?

    6) Moar beached whale plz. Kthnxbai.

    • Mishmish seems to be the common egyptian name for orange kitties. Squeaky was almost Mishmish.

      concur re: moderate. heck, all these terms are relative.

      Unfortunately, the beached whale does not make too many appearances at our house, but I will keep my eye out.

  6. I came across your site when you posted from lol cat fiqh pictures. I thought they were hilarious. I live in Lahore, Pakistan and follow your blog on my Google blog reader.

    1. I fear I’ve outgrown online handles. I used to employ Caligua (Gore Vida is a favorite author) and MallRoadIcedTea. But not any more.

    2. I don’t have a cat. My sister has a cat. Her name is KC (for Kitty Cat). She is the fattest cat I’ve ever seen. When my sister moved to Pakistan briefly, KC stayed with us.

    3. I love cats, but unfortunately, ever since about the age of 15, I have been allergic to them.

    4. None, really.

    5. I’m a cultural Muslim. That means that, while I may not pray (at all), I observe Islamic cultural practices. Practically, this means that I have a Mulsim name, say my Salaams and KhudaHafiz’s when I meet people, pray on Eids, abide by an Islamic diet. But not any more Muslim than that.

    6. lolcat fiqh was pretty funny. But I don’t mind following your online rihla.

    Good luck,
    Rafay Alam

    • Welcome to my blog and thanks so much for your comment! So sorry to hear about your allergy. I think that would be the saddest thing imaginable for me :(

  7. I am Khadija from Lahore and I have every picture of your Squeaky – I simply love her and call her family and send the pictures to my kids as well – I have a parrot called Muslim and two smaller ones – all the best Ameen!

  8. Salaam,
    1.Your online handle and it’s significance
    ****It is my name, although from now on I shall now be “other Anne” since there is more than one of us out there.

    2.Do you have a cat? And if so, how many and what are their names?
    ****I do not. My hubby thinks they are covered in microbes. My coollest cat ever was Frederick Emmanuel Smooch, in old age aka Mr Bones. We decided he was Brittish and Gay – do to his excessive hygiene and fussiness (I know the stereotypes!). He played the piano beautifully while perched atop the bench looking at sheet music. He also enjoyed turning on and off lights and scratching off the private areas on all of my Bon Jovi posters (and other hair band hotties) when I was a teen. I loved that cat
    3.How do you feel about cats?
    *** eh, they’re ok :)
    4.What name of Allah (swt) speaks to you the most?
    ***Ar – Rahman and Al-Wadud
    5.How do you label yourself, religion wise?
    **I would be a Muslim – pray Shia style, follow both Ayatollah Sistani and Sunni fiqh (I know I am terrible) Others may label me conservative, moderate, proggie, marinated in feminism (Dr Laura my husband loves) – depends on who is talking and/or looking at me
    6.If I could post more about one thing, what would it be?
    I do not blog, too busy blurking.

    • If people see you as everything on all sides of the spectrum, then you’re probably somewhere in the middle and that is a-ok :)

      • Had to share. Got it in my coupon booklet today.
        dreamproductscatalog.com

        the uber-tackiest bejeweled cat watch ever. I do not know if this means you will automatically love it or not.

        “jeweled eyes reflect light into a rainbow of colors. ”
        “The Purrrrfect addition to any cat lovers wardrobe.”

        I thought of you. You need not post this, merely info sharing

  9. Heh, that is definitely not my kind of cat jewlery. It’s kind of hard, because now that I’m a crazy cat lady, everyone gives me cat related things. And some of them are cute, but some are just like, eh, thanks, I’ll put this out, um never.

  10. Assalamu ‘alaykum wr wb Rahma (UmmS)
    here’s to your questions:
    1. my online handle: used differ in the past, but of late, it’s my name.

    2. yesssss, i do, in fact, there was a time (some years back) when i had 4-5 cats at a time, but then all passed away one by one (InshaALlah, will meet all of ’em in Jannat-ul-Firdaws, Ameen)…right now, i’m just left with only one, madam Ricky, the grand daugther of my first cat named Gaga. I think i’ve told u already; Ricky and ur Squeaky are almost identical. ALmost b/c ricky’s a lighter shade of orange and slighter than your girl. -p
    Oh and the names of all those who’ve passed away: Gaga, Dumbo (the rest of the lot were their children and grand children), Vicky (there were 2 vicky’s), Sylvester, Tammy, Hitler, Prince, Fur Ball (aka Furry & Furro), Alex, Teo and Ricky.

    3. how do i feel about cats…hmm…love ’em, and i love ’em and i love ’em and i love ’em…

    4. Ar-Rahman, Ar-Rahim, Al- Ghafoor, As-Samee, Al-Baseer, and these days, As-Sattar & Al-Muhaiminu.

    5. soo much room for improvement!

    6. Madam Squeakser! i just looove her besides my own Ricky!

    • May you be surrounded by kitties in jannah, ameen :) (that’s totally my wish too. I promised Squeaky she gets to be the Queen of my jannah kitties).

  11. I happened upon your site, if happened is the right word…

    1. Your online handle and it’s significance — Um… I use variants of my first name. No significance really.

    2. Do you have a cat? And if so, how many and what are their names? — No *sniff* but I would love to have a cat! Your cat has got such a personality :)

    3. How do you feel about cats? — Abu Hurayrah (RA) loved cats, ’nuff said.

    4. What name of Allah (swt) speaks to you the most? — Al-Hayy ul-Qayyum

    5. How do you label yourself, religion wise? — I’m straight-out Muslim and I try to follow the Qur’an and Sunnah best I can!

    6. If I could post more about one thing, what would it be? — JazakAllahu khayr for such cute pictures of your cat!

    • Welcome to my blog! I hope you do get a kitty. I’m all about peer pressure – get a cat, get a cat, get a cat. AbuS has convinced one of his friends to adopt, so it’s only a matter of time before cats take over the world.

  12. 1. It’s just my name and initial.
    2. I have one at my parents’ house so I don’t take care of her at all but I’m the one who wanted her as a teen living at home. I named her Meez.
    3. They are beautiful creatures!! But honestly, I’m a dog person.
    4. The Just.
    5. I’d use only Muslim as a label but if I wanted to go into further detail for some reason, I’d come off as progressive or something.
    6. Not sure! Your personal goings on with Islam! I love to hear about that stuff.

    • Thanks for answering. It’s much easier to talk about my cat than it is religion, which is probably why this blog is 90% cat, 5% cooking, and like 2% religion now, ha. I’ll endeavor to post more about it though inshaAllah.

  13. better late than never (it was starred in google reader to do later but never got around to doing it and completely forgot till i was going the starred blog entries):

    1) anthrogal – i’m a gal w/a anthropology degree.

    2) nope, i live vicariously through other ppl’s cats (dh is scared of them)

    3) i like :)

    4) ar-Rahman, ar-Raheem b/c that’s the only hope I have

    5) progressive traditionalist independently thinking Sunni Muslim. Meaning with regards to ibadat I’m strict in following the Maliki maddhab; otherwise outside ibadat I’m a bit more liberal I would say.

    6) your volunteer work at the cat shelter perhaps. b/c we need more muslim volunteers volunteering their passions, not necessarily just donating money. it’s easy to write a check.

      • Love the label! I’ve always identified as a political progressive, which is sometimes at odds with my traditionalist leanings religion wise, but glad to know there are others who have that dichotomy as well :)

Leave a Reply

