muslim garb watch 11.08.10

I was told by my family this weekend that I needed more professional looking clothes for work, so my mom and I went to muslim garb central – Kohls – and she kindly bought me the foundations of a new wardrobe.  Alhamdulilah for having short, stubby legs, because the skirts that are meant to hit mid calf go all the way down to my ankles.

So today’s muslim garb:

  • purple faux suede skirt from Christopher and Banks
  • long sleeve black top
  • lilac short sleeved sweater
  • black and gray scarf
  • and of course, my swirly shoes

Btw, if you have a Kohls in your area, it’s 30% off next week with a Kohl’s charge card.  I got 3 new skirts, 5 long sleeve tops and5 sweaters for $200 with only the extra 15% off.

This is what I’m wearing today, in lilac.  I got another of this style in rose

I’m wearing scary muslim garb tomorrow, most likely with a rose colored top underneath:

7 thoughts on “muslim garb watch 11.08.10

  1. Ugh, how dare you go around scaring poor innocent people with your lilac sweater and swirly shoes! What chutzpah! :)

    I know I look pretty scary with my earth-tone jilbabs and denim jumpers, and I’m a downright monster when I wear my waist-length khimars. And don’t even get me started on my black overhead jilbab. When will I ever learn?? :P

    • Ooo, very scary! I wore my favorite black abaya to and from the gym yesterday. People were literally fainting at the sight of me.

  2. Hehehe. I wear my jilbab to the pool. I look really odd until I change into my hijabi swimsuit. Eh, hang on a minute, I still look odd. But who cares as long as I get to swim????? :-D

    • Exactly! Sadly, I have somehow misplaced my hijabi swimsuit. We moved, and I thought I would find it when we packed and unpacked, but alas, it is no where to be found :(

      • Ooh, that’s unfortunate. Those things are expensive! They’re an awesome invention Masha’Allah, but I’ve never really been into swimming, so I can’t justify to myself spending so much money on a swimsuit I probably won’t use.

  3. Hi, I’m Mama Pongkey, and I am a swimming addict. Hehehe.
    Oh no.. pity about the swimsuit.. maybe it’ll turn up somehow? I know, these things are quite expensive. I’d really love to own a Burqini, but they cost too much. So I settled for a local version for half the price, which suits me quite well. A friend got hers online for half of what I paid (lucky her, I got mine at a department store, am quite particular about loose fit) with similar thick material.
    Btw am absolutely in lurve with your swirly shoes. Sigh. Drool.

Leave a Reply

