finally!

I don’t feel quite so alone.  There are other muslim tree huggers out there!

Call to Worship: Islam and the Environment

What makes Islam especially congruent with environmentalism?
The part that resonates with me the most is where the Prophet Muhammad, peace be upon him, said that the earth is a mosque. Since everything on the planet is sacred, nothing can be debased. If I pray and my head touches a blade of grass, on the day of judgment that blade of grass will be able to say, “He prayed here.” The wind will say, “I heard him praise God here.” Everything around us will be able to testify for and against us. So if I am a factory owner and I dump mercury in the lake, then that lake and the fish and everything around it will be able to testify against me on the day of judgment and say, “You polluted me. You poisoned me.”

Islam also lays out a framework to explain why human beings can have a negative effect on the environment. There’s a passage in the Koran that says: “Corruption has appeared on the land and in the sea because of what the hands of humans have wrought. This is in order that [Allah] give them a taste of the consequences of their misdeeds that perhaps they will return to the path of right guidance.”

Leave a Reply

