doomed to repeat

I hear echos of McCarthy-ism looming.

I can’t follow his logic.

“The great majority of Muslims in our country are hardworking, dedicated Americans,” he said Saturday.

Okay, check.

“[There are] outstanding Muslims who contribute so much to the future of our country.”

Check.

“I will drive the public debate on Islamic radicalization. These hearings will be a step in that direction. It’s what democracy is all about.”

Huh?

I thought that’s what fearmongering is all about.

Perhaps King’s been reading Glenn Beck‘s book “The Real America,” in which the statistical genius states, “Ten percent of Islam wants us dead.”

Make no mistake, homegrown terrorism is a real threat, but is hauling someone before Congress for being a Muslim the solution?


In this troubling time, I shall relate to you (for the umpteenth time), the story of my grandmother.

She was the secretary of a higher up in the Wisconsin Republican party in the 50s, and as such, was invited to attend functions with various Very Important Republicans.

One such event was a dinner in honor of Senator Joseph McCarthy, at the high of his red witch hunting.  When he entered the room, everyone gave him a standing ovation.  Everyone that is, but my grandmother.  She remained seated and did not clap.

Let’s reflect on the courage of my grandmother in light of this hadith:

He who amongst you sees something abominable should modify it with the help of his hand; and if he has not strength enough to do it, then he should do it with his tongue, and if he has not strength enough to do it, even then he should abhor it from his heart. [Muslim]

My grandmother, a person with little power, could do nothing to stop McCarthy-ism on her own.  But she did what was within her power – she let it be known through her actions that she was not happy, and may Allah (swt) reward her for that.

I’m not saying that these hearings will necessarily be as bad as the McCarthy ones.  But they certainly are McCarthy-esque, and may Allah (swt) give us all the strength and courage to face the trials we may face.

4 thoughts on “doomed to repeat

  1. I haven’t read Beck’s book and didn’t know he included it in there too; I know he said it on his radio show because of “http://cnn.com/video/?/video/us/2010/12/10/gps.witw.glenn.beck.cnn”

    • Fixed it :) That is quite possible. I don’t normally (ok ever) listen to Glenn Beck, nor read anything he’s written, so I really don’t know.

  2. oh, it could very well be in the book, that is what I was wondering because it is a much scarier prospect. I imagine more people will read his book than listened to that one radio show!

Leave a Reply

