food matters monday

It was a good food matters weekend at Casa Squeaky.  In the fridge for this week’s consumption is:

  • tropical oat stackers – banana coconut oat cookies, or as I like to call them, little puffs of jannah.
  • noodles with tofu, broccoli and black tea sauce
  • UmmS’ kofta – my own creation, half cropped peppers, half ground chicken.  I’m still working on perfecting the recipe, but once I make it a few more times, I’ll post it here inshaAllah
  • root vegetables, brussel sprouts and chicken with sunflower seed sauce – this was originally chicken and parsnips with pumpkin seed sauce, but I can never make something with just one root vegetable.  And, sunflower seeds were 1/4 the price of pumpkin seeds.

and

Polenta “Pizza” with Stewed Tomatoes

As always, if you enjoy these recipes, please consider purchasing the book Food Matters.  I’m not paid to plug it, I just love it and want to share it’s awesomeness.  Thus far in the year of food matters, I’ve lost a pound a week, despite major sabotage I blame on Kraft, Target and my lack of self control.  Target was having a major sale on Macaroni and Cheese, and I just happened to pick up a box of their organic version.  Low and behold, they make it with non animal enzyme.  Takbir!  Of course, I ended up buying more than a few boxes.  And eating more than a few.  Bah.  No self control. Bad nafs, bad bad.

Alas, this week’s recipe did not photograph well.  But, you still get an awesome picture of hotdog, the food matters wonder cat.

In all honesty, this recipe isn’t really pizza-y, at least not to me.  But, that doesn’t mean it isn’t incredibly tasty and healthy – it is :)

This recipe originally called for green olives to stew with the tomatoes, but honestly, the only kind of olives I like are kalamata.  The kalamata olives in my fridge have pits, and I’m too lazy to depit them to chop them, so there were no olives on this pizza.

There is also the option to sprinkle parmesan cheese on the top, but as my dear readers know, I have no self control when it comes to cheese in my house, so I chose not to buy any, lest it be gobbled down by a wayward nafs.

When I make it again, I think I’ll add finely chopped broccoli or brussel sprout quarters to the tomatoes as they stew.

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil, plus more as needed
  • 1 cup coarse cornmeal/polenta
  • salt
  • 1/2 cup milk (the original calls for whole, but I used skim)
  • black pepper
  • 2 onions, chopped (yaaay, a recipe that calls for lots of onions.  I usually add more than what’s called for, but in this case, it was plenty)
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 3 cups chopped tomatoes (I used 1 28 oz can)
  • 3 bay leaves – UmmS’ addition
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil (I used dried)
  1. Brush a layer of oil on a pizza pan or baking sheet.  Put the cornmeal and a large pinch of salt in a medium saucepan; slowly whisk in 2 1/2 cups of water and the milk to make a lump free slurry.  Set the pot over medium-high heat and bring almost to a boil, then reduce the heat to low.  Cook, whisking frequently, until thick, 10 to 15 minutes.  If the mixture becomes too thick, whisk in a bit more water; you want the consistency to be like thick oatmeal.
  2. Stir 1 tablespoon of the oil into the polenta (I skipped this).  Spoon it onto the prepared pan, working quickly so the polenta doesn’t harden; spread it evenly 1/2 inch thick all over.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper, cover the polenta with plastic wrap, and refrigerate until firm, 1 hour or more (you can refrigerate it for up to 24 hours if you prefer – this is what I did).
  3. Heat the oven to 450 F.  Bake the polenta until it begins to brown and crisp on the edges, 25 to 30 minutes.  Meanwhile, put 2 tablespoons oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add the onions, garlic and cook, stirring occasionally, until the onions begin to soften, about 5 minutes.  Add the tomatoes, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and cook, stirring occasionally, until the tomatoes break down and thicken a bit, about 15 minutes (I also added the bay leaves here, and simmered on low for an hour.  In the last 10 minutes, I added the basil).
  4. Spoon sauce over polenta crust, serve warm.  Enjoy!
4 thoughts on “food matters monday

Leave a Reply

