food matters monday

Today’s recipe is an UmmS original – well, as original as a veggie wrap can be.  In true Bittman-esque fashion, it’s incredibly versatile and customizable, depending on what’s in your fridge, what’s on sale and/or what you feel like eating.   And, it follows the principles of making food matter:

  1. Eat fewer animal products than average.  My wrap uses just a tiny bit of cheese.  You could also throw in a little shredded smoked salmon or roast turkey.
  2. Eat all the plants you can manage.  The majority of the filling is veggies veggies veggies.
  3. Make legumes and whole grains a part of your life.  I use a home made whole wheat chapati for my wrap, but you could use pita, tortilla, or other bread, so long as it is actually whole wheat.  You can also incorporate legumes by adding hummus or a bean puree.
  4. Avoid processed foods.  Since I make my own chapatis, there isn’t anything really processed in this.  Are canned tomatoes considered processed?
  5. Everything else is a treat.  My inclusion of cheese is definitely a treat for me.

And now, on to the food!

Since I like to prepare bit amounts of food to be eaten over several days, I start by making a big container of mixed vegetables.   Here’s what I included this week:

  • butter lettuce
  • cucumber
  • green and red peppers
  • tomatoes
  • carrots

This I keep stored in the fridge.  When I want to have a wrap, I pull a chapati out of the fridge and microwave it for 15 seconds (to make it soft and easy to fold).  I then take a big handful or 2 of the veggie mix and stick it in a bowl.  I add a small amount of a soft cheese (AbuS always has egyptian cream cheese on hand that I normally don’t like [smells like a barnyard to me] but just a little bit of it’s creaminess really goes a long way in the sandwich), and 1/6 of an avocado.  I toss everything so that the avocado and cheese coat the veggies, then place on the wrap and wa’la, a tasty tasty sandwich.

If you’re planning on taking this for lunch, I would suggest keeping the veggie, cheese and avocado mix separate from the bread and only assembling it when you’re ready to eat.  Sometimes vegetables will release some moisture and make the bread soggy.  And the last thing you want to eat is a soggy sandwich, yuck.

6 thoughts on “food matters monday

    • They’re not hard, just really time consuming. I usually increase the batch, using 4 cups of flour and 1 1/3 cup water, so I get 16 chapatis. It takes me probably an hour to roll and cook them all.

      Butter lettuce is also known as boston bib – http://www.produceoasis.com/Items_folder/Vegetables/ButterLet.html – nothing super special about it, just what was cheapest at the store, ha. I try to look for darker green leafy plants to use for salad and sandwiches. Any kind of lettuce or spinach would work, although I avoid iceburg, since that has less vitamins and other nutrients. In general, the darker the leaf, the more good stuff in it.

Leave a Reply

