food matters monday

It lives!

AbuS style Tropical Oat Stackers

I think it’s safe to say AbuS has become a bit of a fat-a-phobe.  Anything that can be done to remove fat from a recipe must be done.  This recipe originally started with nuts and a 1/4 cup of butter or oil.  It’s now got no nuts and 2 Tbsp of oil.  It can’t be completely eliminated without making the cookies impossible to cook.

I’m lucky if these cookies last more than a few hours in Casa Squeaky.  Usually, they’re gone before the night is out.  I first made this recipe probably 3 weeks ago, and I already have it committed to memory.  Perhaps I’ve made it a few too many times?

I actually prefer it in dough form, so I scoop myself out a bowl before I bake.  It’s almost like a bowl of banana coconut oatmeal.  Hmm, now that sounds good.  Me thinks I’ll be googling recipes for that this week.

  • 3 large ripe bananas
  • 2 Tbsp neutral oil
  • 1 cup shredded coconut (if sweetened, no need to add any additional sugar)
  • Sugar to taste, probably 1/4 cup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/4 or more of rolled oats (the recipe originally calls for 2/3 cup, but since we eliminated the nuts, I think it needs something more solid to hold it together.  I actually don’t know the amount I use.  I just keep adding until the dough holds together and isn’t very mushy)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Throw bananas and oil in food processor.  Process until smooth.
  3. Add vanilla, salt and baking powder, and process until incorporated.
  4. Add coconut (and sugar if using).  Process until mixed
  5. Add oats until the dough becomes semi solid.
  6. Spray cookie sheet and drop teaspoon or tablespoon sized dough balls onto sheet.  Back 8 to 10 minutes, or until the bottom is browned.
3 thoughts on “food matters monday

    • I’d use something that’s tasteless. I usually have canola oil as my neutral, and use olive oil for sauteing. But definitely not olive oil for baking cookies. It just leaves a weird taste.

      For oats, I use rolled oats, kind of in between the instant and steel cut.

Leave a Reply

