note to self

Know that you will never truly love Allah until you love obeying Him

— Attributed to Hasan al-Basri (ra) on tumblr

Even if it’s not really from Hasan al-Basri (ra), it is a bit of wisdom that bears repeating.   Love is not simply a mushy emotion of the heart, head or nafs.  We don’t simply sit on the couch thinking, o Allah , I love you, I love you, I love you, and think that this is the only thing we need to do to express our love.

Ours is not a love of equals.  Allah  is the Beloved and we are His servants.  For our love of Allah to be worth anything, we should seek to please Him.  Love in this case requires action.  Indeed, our love for our Beloved SHOULD manifest itself in action, and those actions should be ones pleasing to Allah

Allah Himself tells us how our love should be manifest:

Whomever is hostile to a friend of Mine I declare war against. My slave approaches Me with nothing more beloved to Me than what I have made obligatory upon him, and My slave keeps drawing nearer to Me with voluntary works until I love him. And when I love him, I am his hearing with which he hears, his sight with which he sees, his hand with which he seizes, and his foot with which he walks. If he asks Me, I will surely give to him, and if he seeks refuge in Me, I will surely protect him. I do not hesitate from anything I shall do more than My hesitation to take the soul of the believer who dislikes death; for I dislike displeasing him.

Hadith Qudsi recorded in Bukhari

art by =demeters of deviantart

One thought on “note to self

Leave a Reply

