scan or grope?

Alas, our umrah plans were not meant to be.  I must keep reminding myself that Allah (swt) is the best of all planners.  We may want to go, but until He invites us, we cannot.

So instead, this weekend I’m flying to DC to visit my mom and sister.  This is the first time I’ve flown in years, and as such, the first time I’ve been confronted with new security measures.  Here is my conundrum:  be nekkid scanned or groped?  I’m leaning towards the pat down, for this reason – it’s a temporary violation of my personal privacy.  Who knows if the scanned image will be saved and distributed?

Has anyone traveled in the past few months and been faced with these choices?  What did you chose?  Would you do it differently next time you travel?

7 thoughts on “scan or grope?

  1. I prefer to look the person violating my personal space in directly in the face. Just work on your stink eye before you go. And make sure you ask them to change their gloves before they touch you. (ick ick ick).

  2. I am opting not to fly for now, but if faced with it, I think I would choose the scan. You can at least pretend it hasn’t happened; you cannot pretend someone hasn’t stuck their hands where they have no place going. I’d rather feel virtually violated than physically.

  3. Do you guys have to have a scan or pat down? even when flying interstate??? Wow thats a hard one, I hate ANYONE touching me let alone a full body pat down, but when you mean scan does that really mean they see EVERYTHING???? I guess if I were to be body searched Id ask if there was a female who could do it. We have it so easy here in Oz, we just walk through the security and if we beep we empty our pockets :P.

    • I’m not sure, but I’m just preparing for any potential possibility. That’s how it used to be here, but certain individuals have ruined it for all of us :(

      • Salaam,
        If you can dress down, pants and a shirt – you will be molested to a much lesser degree – possibly the perfunctory head pet. I stopped wearing skirts through the airport because then you get them running their hands up and down your legs – a little to erotic for me with strangers you know? But last time, I wore loose jeans and a loose (but not SHUKR loose) shirt with my scarf. You could also do something like that with a trench – take the trench off long enough to go through security and put it back on. Might save yourself from being super groped.

Leave a Reply

